Who are we?

The Te Tatau o Te Arawa Board was established in December 2015 marking a significant achievement for Rotorua and Aotearoa | New Zealand.

For more than 20 years, Te Arawa and the Rotorua Lakes Council had attempted to strengthen trust and build an enduring relationship between each other.

At the same time a deep desire to develop appropriate Te Arawa input into Council decision-making had been quietly simmering under the surface. Following a robust 18 month process, the Rotorua community celebrated the inauguration of the Te Tatau o Te Arawa Board and signed a partnership agreement between Te Arawa and Rotorua Lakes Council in December, 2015.

The agreement embodies the intention of Te Arawa and Rotorua Lakes Council to establish an enduring partnership which creates a future that benefits the community as a whole.

Our Vision

Sustainable, intergenerational Well-being of People, Culture and Place within te rohe o Te Arawa.

Our Purpose

The partnership has five key objectives:

  • To strengthen Te Arawa’s participation in Council decision-making
  • Strategic & Integrated development that identifies opportunities to work together for the betterment of Rotorua. 
  • Build Te Arawa’s Capacity and Capability to participate in Council decision-making
  • Improve communication, kōrero and information sharing
  • Improve Council’s delivery of its obligations to Māori

Our Mission

To serve and represent Te Arawa whānui and to work in partnership with Rotorua Lakes Council to create and foster a high trust environment to achieve enhanced socio-economic and cultural prosperity for TeArawa, for Māori and for the wider community in the Rotorua district.

The Model

Te Arawa elected a board of 14 members for the next three years to guide the partnership and represent the diverse voices of Te Arawa.

Our members represent Te Arawa’s collective interest and are made up of a broad cross section of Te Arawa. This diverse group includes Koeke (esteemed elders), Rangatahi (young people), Ngāti Whakaue, Te Arawa hapū and iwi, Māori land trusts and incorporations as well as pan Te Arawa entities.

Te Tatau o Te Arawa is made up of 14 board members.

Rotorua made the commitment in August 2017 to advance as a bilingual city and district.

Read more about Te Tatau o Te Arawa.