Te Tatau o Te Arawa board resignations announced today

Rawiri Waru & Lani Kereopa have stepped down from Te Tatau o Te Arawa

With their appointments on Rotorua Lakes Council, Te Tatau o Te Arawa board members, chair, Rawiri Waru, and deputy chair, Lani Kereopa, have resigned from their roles on the Te Arawa board.

Rawiri believes stepping aside will enable greater and more robust Te Arawa participation and involvement by Te Tatau o Te Arawa at Council. He says there has been some confusion amongst fellow elected members about his and Lani’s roles as Māori ward councillors, rather than Te Arawa councillors.

“Firstly, me mihi ki a Te Arawa. It has been an honour to serve the people on the Te Tatau board since its inception. I believe in the kaupapa and will always support Te Tatau o Te Arawa and the partnership with Council. I feel this is a good time to step away so as not to blur the lines with the position I hold as a Māori ward representative. 

“I wish Te Tatau o Te Arawa all the best. It is an integral part of how our city and rohe are going to be set up for future generations. May it go on mō ake tonu atu,” says Rawiri.

Lani says she is happy to step down as the Ngāti Whakaue representative on Te Tatau o Te Arawa to allow another voice to join the table.

“I put my hand up for Te Tatau because I wanted to support iwi engagement within local government decision-making.

“As a Māori ward councillor, I will continue to maintain a good working relationship with the Te Tatau board towards those same aspirations,” she says.

Te Tatau board has elected James Hamiora as the new chair and Mariana Vercoe as the new deputy chair. 

Te Tatau o Te Arawa will be filling the two vacancies in the near future.